Seq line questions

Questions and Answers concerning the spectralis!

Moderator: Jörg Schaaf

Seq line questions

Postby thetechnobear » Fri Mar 06, 2015 12:12 am

Hi,

a) Im slighly confused about 'triggers' on a sequencer line....
if I use (say) the LP Cutoff Freq line, then I can see that the ensures will modulate the frequency by the offset, even when a 'trigger' is not set. but often the effect is more pronouced if it is set.

my assumption is, that the trigger activates the type (attack/decay etc) , and also uses the length, whereas if its not set then it is just active for the one encoders step ... on/off - correct? when when the trigger is set, does it still use the same depth/offset value?

b) is there no way to use a seq line for the LP resonance?

c) might be a bug, but I the default lines for contain the MMCutoff, but if you create a new line then this is not a target (only MMRes and an LFO one)


thanks
Mark
User avatar
thetechnobear
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Seq line questions

Postby via » Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:18 pm

a) correct, and yes the offset is still valid over the envelope trigger and time ..

b) yes, it´s possible just set up a new line to trigger reso

c) don´t quite understand ... but by default MM cutoff is set to line 14
via
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 3:19 am

Re: Seq line questions

Postby thetechnobear » Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:49 pm

Thanks....

Ive found out my 'issues' with b and c...

when I turn the encoder there are 3 values, e.g. FmLfoDpt, LPDbReso,LPFreqExp
the issue is, when turning the encoder it jumps from FmLfoDpt to LPFreqExp, really quickly... so quickly I didnt even see the LpDbReso in between (even though I was explicitly looking for it). it seems like the encoder is really sensitive, and there is only a very small 'window' where LpDbReso is shown.
Is there a way to slow down the scrolling...
I read it was suppose to be reactive to how fast you turn the encoder, but even turning the encoder slowly doesnt really help.
or is this something you just 'get used to' ?


Now I 'know' its there is not really an issue, but I wonder how many other encoder values, I'm not seeing because they are being skipped over so quickly.

thanks for the help, much appreciated... :)
User avatar
thetechnobear
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Seq line questions

Postby via » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:02 pm

The blinking rate of the LCD has more to do with it vs the encoders, this is on the wishlist..
via
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 3:19 am

Re: Seq line questions

Postby thetechnobear » Mon Mar 09, 2015 11:18 pm

cool...

another question...
so I've been playing with the seq line to play with the MMCutoff,
ok, no problem with the asynth
but id thought id try with the dsynth

ok, so the seq line works, as its working for the asynth, but not for the dsynth.
in the dsynth, on set routing, i set digital to MM (& also LP)
then switch to asynth, but still found that the MM cutoff didnt seem to alter the dsynth sound,
I wondered if this was because the MM was not triggered, but i tried to set the MM bypass, so I thought that would mean it doesnt need triggering.. but still nothing.

have I missed something ?
User avatar
thetechnobear
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Seq line questions

Postby thetechnobear » Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:52 pm

worked it out, I had not set AnSend on the Dsynth (only the LP/MM on the next page), Id assume since it was on the same page as Dir1/2 Dir3/4, AnSend was going to the ASynth ports, but apparently it means to the asynth.
(my asynth settings for bypass were correct)
one more lesson learnt :)
User avatar
thetechnobear
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Spain


Return to Helpdesk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron