MIDI sequencer lines

Questions and Answers concerning the spectralis!

Moderator: Jörg Schaaf

MIDI sequencer lines

Postby acemonvw » Fri May 27, 2011 8:29 pm

So...

I tried finding this in the search, but perhaps I don't know what to search for appropriately, but my question is:

Is there a way (or will there be a way later) to be able to actually record notes from a MIDI controller in realtime when you're using MIDI sequencer lines?

Basically, I use the Matrix 1000 and would like to be able to record the notes from my MIDI controller (multiple notes at a time) and have it send that data to the Matrix, and then have the sound come back in to the spectralis (that part I can get).

In essence, with the analog synth and the D synths, you are able to record multiple notes in realtime, but for MIDI sequencer lines, you can't. It ends up recording mono analog notes...

I just don't know if this is something you can do and I just can't figure it out, something that the spectralis was never meant to handle, or something that in the future, will be implemented?

Thanks!
User avatar
acemonvw
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby Leshrac » Sun May 29, 2011 12:53 pm

press select (lights up) and then shift. now select a DSYNTH part. now you can choose a midi channel.
now you can record notes with steprecording and realtime. not that this way (realtime) is the polyphonic record mode
for external devices. the problem you get is if you want to mute that part. normally you select the part, press motif, then edit and go to page 3/3 .. there you can choose the mute function. sure you want to to mute the trigger because the voice is from your oberheim. but you cant save that into the patter because of a firmware bug. yoyu need to mute the oberheim at your mixer or feed it back into the analog ins and mute the analog part. so it doesnt sound furthermore until demuting.
http://www.blattrecords.net || http://www.facebook.com/Leshrac.music || http://www.myspace.com/leshracmusic
Leshrac
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:38 pm
Location: Thüringen

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby acemonvw » Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:21 pm

Oh man! That's awesome! I completely missed that in the manual but that is just perfect... but wait, you say that it does do polyphonic notes for the MIDI device?

You mentioned mixers... I actually will have a question about that in the "Other Hardware" section.

I seriously don't know what I'd do without you guys on this forum! Thank you!
User avatar
acemonvw
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby Leshrac » Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:36 pm

thats why this forum exist 8)


dsynth part 1,2 and 3 are polyphonic .. if u config them in the mentioned way you get a polyphonic sequencer
but you need to record the notes via realtime of step record (but there it think it isnt possible to record chords)
use realtime and sequence your matrix polyphonic
http://www.blattrecords.net || http://www.facebook.com/Leshrac.music || http://www.myspace.com/leshracmusic
Leshrac
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:38 pm
Location: Thüringen

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby acemonvw » Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:49 pm

Oh, all I really care about is realtime recording anyway, I'm not very good at using the chord function. So this is awesome! The downside is that I usually find a sound that is just as good on the Spectralis as I was using on my outboard gear, which would certainly simplify my setup.

Sometimes, I think it would be nice to just get rid of everything and be left with the spectralis, but I admit, I've been having a lot of fun with my Casio CZ-101 and the RADIAS and I think that's the important part of having the gear. Especially with the Casio... made nintendo-sounding music and have been trying to replicate Megaman music... that stuff was awesome.

Thanks again for the help!
User avatar
acemonvw
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby phakju » Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 pm

acemonvw wrote:Is there a way (or will there be a way later) to be able to actually record notes from a MIDI controller in realtime when you're using MIDI sequencer lines?



can anyone please confirm/correct my conclusions:

1) as for the question quoted above: not implemented, it is not possible to record to any sequencer line, they can only be programmed step by step

2) realtime recording target is always the related "machine" and recording will create a motif assigned to it

a) drum part x => monophonic, mono-note, motif editable after recording
b) a-synth => monophonic, motif not editable after recording
c) 3x d-synth => polyphonic, motif not editable after recording

thanx
phakju
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:40 am

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby Leshrac » Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:32 pm

a-d = true .. till now
http://www.blattrecords.net || http://www.facebook.com/Leshrac.music || http://www.myspace.com/leshracmusic
Leshrac
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:38 pm
Location: Thüringen

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby phakju » Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:57 am

Danke
phakju
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:40 am

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby atienon » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:17 am

Don't 3 seq lines on the same midi channel is the way to create sequenced chords ?
atienon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:34 am

Re: MIDI sequencer lines

Postby acemonvw » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:23 am

Yes, you could do that. I have done that a number of times.

The problem is only that it eats 3 sequencer lines to make it. But there's really no better way if you're using sequencer lines. You could just record the chords as a motif as well.
User avatar
acemonvw
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN


Return to Helpdesk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron